Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2018 MASCAC Fall Sportsmanship Team Announced

2018 MASCAC Fall Sportsmanship Team Announced

47 MASCAC student-athletes honored

FITCHBURG, Mass. – The 2018 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Fall Sportsmanship Teams were recently announced by the league office.

Among the 47 MASCAC student-athletes recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship were six Fitchburg State student-athletes: senior Joseph Darrigo (Tewksbury, Mass.) (men's cross country); senior Jennifer Desilvestre (Beverly, Mass.) (women's cross country); junior Connor Briggs (East Taunton, Mass.) (football); sophomore Mikaela Mitchell (Millbury, Mass.) (women's soccer); junior Nolan Brassard (Leominster, Mass.) (men's soccer) & senior Nicole Sylvester (Everett, Mass.) (women's volleyball).

The MASCAC Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes and coaches who display outstanding sportsmanship on and off the field. As an important piece of the MASCAC and NCAA philosophy, the representatives on the team display what it means to have good sportsmanship in the MASCAC.

A student-athlete from each institution is selected by their coach to be placed on the Sportsmanship Team.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013-14.

Click here to read full MASCAC release