Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

MASCAC Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

MASCAC Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

Mitchell selected MASCAC Women's Basketball Rookie of the Year; Marazzi earns All-Conference Second Team Honors

WESTFIELD, Mass. – Freshman guard Mikaela Mitchell (Millbury, Mass.) was selected the 2017-18 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Women's Basketball Rookie of the Year, while sophomore guard Angelina Marazzi (Manchester, N.H.) was named to the MASCAC All-Conference second-team as voted on by the league's seven head coaches.

Mitchell averaged 11 points, 5.9 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.5 steals per game this season, while leading the MASCAC in three-point percentage (36.2%) and ninth in overall field goal percentage (42.7%).

Marazzi was also solid for the Green and Gold this past season, ranking third in the conference in points per game (15.8), while also posting a team-best 410 points in addition to 104 boards, 60 assists and 44 steals in 26 games.

Sophomore Mary Kate O'Day of Framingham State University garnered MASCAC Women's Basketball Player of the Year honors after leading the Rams to the second seed in the MASCAC post-season tournament. O'Day concluded the season, averaging a conference-best 18.5 points per game as well as netting the fourth-best three-point percentage (34.6%) and fifth in free-throw percentage (79.6%).

Framingham State head coach Walter Paschal was selected the 2017-18 MASCAC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year after leading the Rams to an 9-3 mark in conference play, en-route to capturing the second seed in the conference tournament.

Joining O'Day on the First Team All-Conference were Bridgewater State's Chanelle Melton, Framingham State's Raegan Mulerin, Salem State's Kia Fernandes and Worcester State's Britt Herring.

Landing spots on the Second Team All-Conference with Marazzi, were Westfield State's Lucy Barrett and Kierra McCarthy, Framingham State's Tiphani Harris and Worcester State's Catherine Sweeney.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's first Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC core member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013. 

Portions of release courtesy of the MASCAC media relations office