Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Football Earns Worcester All-Area Honors

Football Earns Worcester All-Area Honors

Falcons name four players to the 2018 Worcester All-Area Team

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Worcester Area Football Association has announced the 28th annual Steve "Merc" Morris All-Star Team as selected by the eight sports information directors of Worcester County who sponsor football.

Freshman defensive lineman Samuel Kenny (South Yarmouth, Mass.) led all Fitchburg State honorees after being selected Worcester All-Area Freshman of the year as well as earning Worcester All-Area Second Team accolades, while senior defensive back Jovon White (Meriden, Conn.), classmate Sterlin Garvin (Canton, Mass.) and sophomore D-Lineman Caleb Gonsalves (Mashpee, Mass.) collected All-Worcester Area First-Team honors.

The major award winners included senior wide receiver Deonte Harris (Baltimore, Md.) of Assumption as the Offensive Player of the Year while senior defensive back Andrew Benson (E. Bridgewater) of Holy Cross was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year.

Senior placekicker Spencer Herrington (Clearfield, Penn.) of WPI earned Special Teams Player of the Year, while freshman defensive lineman Samuel Kenny (South Yarmouth, Mass.) of Fitchburg State was named Freshman of the Year. Dale Olmsted of Nichols rounded out the major award winners after being named Worcester Area Football Association Coach of the Year.

Now celebrating its 28th anniversary, the Worcester Area Football Association All-Star Team is named in memory of Steve "Merc" Morris, the longtime Assistant Director of Athletics for Media Relations and Assumption Hall of Famer. Morris was a 1972 graduate of Assumption and was a member of the athletics staff for 39 years before he passed away in January of 2011.

In addition to being the founder of the Worcester Area Association All-Star Program, Morris was a tireless supporter of collegiate athletics and had a key role in the lives of thousands of student-athletes.

Click Here For Complete List Of Honorees